Oberon District Museum
Located one block off Oberon's main street in Scotia Avenue. Apart from over 150 pieces of early farm machinery dotted around the nearly 2 acres of level display area the Museum also boasts a wide and varied collection of artifacts and memorabilia.
Two of the Museum's most popular exhibits are the early settler's authentic, furnished house complete with a blacksmiths shop and it's fully functioning forge.
Both these buildings were built between 1885 / 1895 and, although from different properties, compliment one another to give the visitor a real impression of how our pioneers lived and adapted to survive and succeed in making a living in this high, often harsh plateau country. Some of the other attractions to be seen include a collection of hand made bricks, a re-creation of the township of Oberon in the 1930's displayed in pottery completed by the Oberon Day Care Group based on photos and descriptions of the town as it was back then. The earliest displayed tool is an 1823 shingle cutter from the Black Springs area whilst a horse-drawn grader used in the making of the Kanangra Walls Road will make one appreciate the difference between how work was done in those days compared to today.
Contact: Oberon Visitor Information Centre
Coach Tours and Overseas Visitors especially welcome.